What I’m really looking for is a car that ‘tweets’!

BMW Twitter Billboard from CUNDARI on Vimeo.

I’ve driven past this dealership quite a bit lately and remember when I first drove past thinking, “no, are those little twitter birds on top of that building…yes, they are.” I’m intrigued at the idea of using a social media site like Twitter to sell cars. I mean, it’s a very cute and interesting initiative and marketing campaign and all, but at the end of the day, is the option of ‘tweeting’ while you’re driving enough of a selling point to tip you over the edge to purchase a car, and not just any car, but a Beemer.

I mean this is a BMW we are talking about. Like many other luxury brands like Mercedes-Benz and Lexus, BMW has a very loyal customer following. I’m not sure someone in the market for a luxury sports car really cars about whether they can tweet while they drive or not. You’d think they’d care more about its exterior/interior styling, engine specs & performance etc. I could be wrong though. BMW customers don’t just care about getting from point A to B, they want to get from point A to B in style. I think a campaign like this might be more fitting for more common brands like Chevy, Toyota, or Honda. I could totally see a Yaris commercial with a little blue bird behind the wheel.

I’m on the fence with this one. Personally, I ‘m not attracted to the idea of being constantly updated along my drive as to whether @etcanada reports that Lindsey Lohan has checked into rehab again. I look at screens enough as it is in front of a computer or television screen. Sometimes it’s just nice to ‘shut-off’ or ‘disconnect’ and enjoy the ride!

Here’s a bit of info on the campaign… Do you care if your car can ‘tweet’ or not?

http://mediaincanada.com/2011/11/08/spotted-bmw-goes-to-the-birds/

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

